Portland Timbers’ 2021 MLS Season Schedule is Set

Portland Timbers
An exterior shot of Providence Park before the Portland Timbers host LAFC in an MLS match on Sunday, Oct. 18, 2020. Sean Meagher/Staff

 The 2021 season schedule is set for the Portland Timbers as they begin their 11th season in Major League Soccer.

Portland’s first two games previously had been announced, but on Wednesday MLS revealed the full 34-game schedule. The Timbers open April 18 against the Cascadia-rival Vancouver Whitecaps in Salt Lake City, and their home opener is April 24 against Houston.

The Timbers will take on the rival Seattle Sounders at Providence Park on May 9 and Aug. 15, and then visit the Sounders on Aug. 29. Portland’s other matchups with the Whitecaps are scheduled for at Vancouver on Sept. 10 and in Portland on Oct. 20.

Portland will have three-game homestands twice, in early August and late September, with five consecutive road games sandwiched in between.

At least 10 of the Timbers’ matches will be broadcast nationally. Of the 24 currently set to be broadcast locally, 16 will be on Fox 12 Plus and eight are pegged for Root Sports. Local radio broadcasts for all the games will be on KXTG (750 The Game) and in Spanish on KGDD (93.5 FM/1150 AM).

The Timbers will have a new-look defense this season, and a recovering attack as midfielder Sebastian Blanco and forward Jaroslaw Niezgoda each are coming off of ACL injuries.

Current Oregon Health Authority regulations cap fan attendance at Timbers games to 25% capacity, or about 6,300 fans. Timbers fans will be welcomed back to Providence Park for the first time in more than a year when Portland takes on C.D. Marathón in CONCACAF Champions League play on April 13.

PORTLAND TIMBERS 2021 MLS SCHEDULE

(Home games in bold; all times Pacific)

Sunday, April 18: at Vancouver (in Salt Lake City), 7 p.m. (Root)

Saturday, April 24: vs. Houston, 7:30 p.m. (Fox 12 Plus)

Saturday, May 1: at Dallas, 5 p.m. (Fox 12 Plus)

Sunday, May 9: vs. Seattle, Noon (ABC)

Saturday, May 15: at San Jose, 7 p.m. (Fox 12 Plus)

Saturday, May 22: vs. LA Galaxy, 12:30 p.m. (ABC)

Sunday, May 30: at Philadelphia, 2:30 p.m. (FS1)

Saturday, June 19: vs. Kansas City, 7:30 p.m. (Fox 12 Plus)

Wednesday, June 23: at Houston, 5:30 p.m. (Root)

Saturday, June 26: vs. Minnesota, 7:30 p.m. (Root)

Saturday, July 3: at Austin, 6 p.m. (Fox 12 Plus)

Saturday, July 17: vs. Dallas, 7:30 p.m. (Fox 12 Plus)

Wednesday, July 21: vs. LAFC, 7:30 p.m. (Root)

Saturday, July 24: at Minnesota, 5 p.m. (Fox 12 Plus)

Friday, July 30: at LA Galaxy, 7 p.m. (ESPN)

Wednesday, Aug. 4: vs. San Jose, 7:30 p.m. (Root)

Saturday, Aug. 7: vs. Salt Lake, 7:30 p.m. (Root)

Sunday, Aug. 15: vs. Seattle, 5:30 p.m. (FS1)

Wednesday, Aug. 18: at Kansas City, 5:30 p.m. (Fox 12 Plus)

Saturday, Aug. 21: at Austin, 6 p.m. (Fox 12 Plus)

Sunday, Aug. 29: at Seattle, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN)

Friday, Sept. 3: at Houston, 5 p.m. (UniMas)

Friday, Sept. 10: at Vancouver, TBD (Fox 12 Plus)

Wednesday, Sept. 15: vs. Colorado, 7 p.m. (Root)

Sunday, Sept. 19: vs. LAFC, 3 p.m. (FS1)

Saturday, Sept. 25: vs. Salt Lake, 7:30 p.m. (Fox 12 Plus)

Wednesday, Sept. 29: at LAFC, 7 p.m. (FS1)

Sunday, Oct. 3: vs. Miami, TBD (FS1)

Saturday, Oct. 16: at LA Galaxy, 7:30 p.m. (Fox 12 Plus)

Wednesday, Oct. 20: vs. Vancouver, 7 p.m. (Fox 12 Plus)

Saturday, Oct. 23: at Colorado, 6 p.m. (Fox 12 Plus)

Wednesday, Oct. 27: vs. San Jose, 7 p.m. (Fox 12 Plus)

Wednesday, Nov. 3: at Salt Lake, 6:30 p.m. (Root)

Sunday, Nov. 7: vs. Austin, 3 p.m. (Fox 12 Plus)

By 

Article source can be found here.